Finding Hope

Have you ever, as a parent, had a super exciting surprise for your kids? Maybe it’s a trip to the park or a stop to get a treat. You know they are going to LOVE it when they get there.

But to them, it feels like an interruption. The whining ensues with questions at every turn and doubts with every change of direction.  They simply don’t trust that what I have chosen is best.

To forfeit the here-and-now for the promise and hope of the future is so difficult.

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last Sunday, I had a chance to study with a ladies class the acceptable (well, not really) sin of discontent. In a nutshell, it boils down to trust.

Like my kids, I do not trust that God has a plan that is good. I see His plans as an interruption of my plans, so I whine with frustration. I grasp and grapple to maintain a tight hold on what feels comfortable.

As I’ve been reading through Proverbs, I have asked God to show me the way, but am I really giving Him my 100% trust? I have asked Him to direct me, but am I willing to humble myself and accept His ways? Am I willing to acknowledge Him in every aspect of my life?

I spend a lot of time dragging my feet rather than rapidly following Him where He leads…trusting that if He says, “COME,” that His future for me is full of hope and promise beyond what He asks me to leave.

I want to be looking for Him and acknowledging Him in everything I see, hear, do and feel.  I want to be surprised by His best plan for me, even when it pulls me off my course.  I want to find my way to trusting and living fully in Hope.

uncommon_sense_hope

Leave a comment