LEGO-Maniac

I thought I heard a mouse. The other night. In the ceiling. Of our bedroom. (Insert shiver down your spine). Scratch. Scratch. Scratch. As I listened more carefully, I realized it was the sound of Timothy rifling through LEGO bricks. It was nearly 11:00 PM.

Timothy is fourteen, and his love for LEGO has not waned since his first set of Duplo blocks received as a toddler. The LEGO instruction books were put away long ago, and out of his own imagination and ingenuity have come some pretty awesome airplanes, motor cycles, cars and action heroes.

He has even brought his creations and structures to life by using his digital camera to create stop motion videos. Scenes emerge and stories are told from this tiny world of clicked together blocks.

Timothy gets his love of LEGO from Todd who was a LEGO-Maniac, too. Certainly, not from me. I am truly amazed by what these two can put together from what looks like a jumble of different colored and varying size bricks.

Honestly, I often look at these LEGO piles as a “mess” with no rhyme nor reason. A hazard to avoid stepping on or the source of that rattling sound as another minuscule piece is sucked up by the vacuum.

Yet out of the chaos of a Rubbermaid tub of LEGO comes order, structure, function and beauty. In the right hands, those LEGOs become something I couldn’t even imagine or dream up.

My life has been full of experiences and circumstances. Pieces piled together. Some in my control, some out of it. Some good, some bad. Some the result of my sin, some from someone else’s. There has been sorrow and joy.

Sometimes it feels like life can be a jumbled up mess. But in the right hands, the hands of the Master, there is hope, redemption, and that is truly beautiful.

Romans 8:28
And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Excerpt from Isaiah 61:3
…to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes…

20130315-110119.jpg

LEGO Crown.
Image from Internet

Leave a comment